Recent News

Posted on: April 22, 2016

Chautauqua County Workers' Memorial Committee Holds 16th Annual Workers' Memorial Day

FREWSBURG, N.Y.: -- The Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee will be holding its 16th Annual Workers’ Memorial Day on Saturday, May 7, 2016 at 11 a.m. at the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Site at Erlandson Overview Park on Oak Hill Road in Frewsburg.

Workers’ Memorial Day is a day of remembering all of the men and women from Chautauqua County who have been killed on the job, in the line of duty, or died from job related causes. This year’s ceremony will recognize 143 individuals who have passed away since 1980, which includes the addition of Alan Harding of Cassadaga who lost his life in a farm accident.

The event is open to the public and refreshments will be served. Scheduled speakers include New York State Senator Catharine Young, New York State Assemblyman Andrew Goodell, and retired Dunkirk teacher and New York State United Teachers Board of Directors E.D.4 member Joseph Sweeny.

The Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Site is made possible by the cooperation of Chautauqua County Government, Chautauqua County Parks Commission, local labor organizations, and by donations from supporters.

“I encourage residents to join us on May 7th as we remember our fellow workers and loved ones who have lost their lives while working,” said Chautauqua County Executive Vince Horrigan. “It is by honoring them and their memory that we are constantly reminded about the need to create and promote safe work environments for all employees.”

Members of the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee are Co-Chairman Vince Horrigan, County Executive; Co-Chairman Doug Stock, President of Dunkirk Central Labor Council; Co-Chairman Dave Wilkinson, IBEW Local #106; Secretary and Treasurer Robert Dando Jr., National Conference of Firemen and Oilers SEIU 32BJ; Paul Fardink, Friend of Labor Management; Hank Hoisington, Vice President of Dunkirk Central Labor Council; James Kurtz, Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA) Local #903/3; Dave Painter, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local #106; William Pienta, Director of United Steelworkers District #4; Jack Rudy, President of the Jamestown Central Labor Council; William Servis, Pipefitter and Sprinkler Local #699; Steve Skidmore, CSEA Local #807/6300; George Spitale, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees Local #418; James Smith, CSEA Local #903/3; and Joseph E. Sweeny, New York State United Teachers Board of Directors E.D. 4.

For more information about the event, please contact the County Executive’s Office at (716) 753-4211.


Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email